Map It Out

Recently, we’ve all been scanning maps of our neighborhoods hoping to catch Psyducks, Jigglypuffs, and Pikachus. Meanwhile, Texas State University Libraries offer services to view and create maps full of geological and sociological information.

SimplyMap allows users to create maps depicting regions as broad as the United States or as finite as individual zip codes. Created maps can be built upon a number of variables including population totals, percent of possible sunshine, or the amount of money spent at sporting goods stores. Users can also search for businesses and have their locations layered on top of the map’s results. SimplyMap is a user-friendly tool to determine demographic details of a chosen region.

OpenGeoSci is a map-based interface plotting points of geological significance based upon articles and data published by GeoScienceWorld. After selecting a category OpenGeoSci will plot the locations that have been mentioned in the literature discussing chosen category. For example: Selecting “General Paleontology” from the list of categories plot 37 locations within a selected land mass that is largely the United States (see below). These plots represent a published study that was done at this location. Clicking on these plots will lead you to the full text article based on these studies. OpenGeoSci can help you see the geological richness of your region.

Example of OpenGoeSci map

These and many other can be found through the RRC Library Website. Or come in and find out more – you never know where you might catch a Charmander.

 

RefWorks

 

Basic RGB

Do you have trouble organizing your research? Have you ever lost track of an article that you had hoped would be helpful? Do you find formatting your citations to be a nuisance? RefWorks might be the answer for you.

RefWorks is an online citation manager available to all Texas State University students. This resource allows users to easily import articles and other media from databases and the library’s collection into user-created folders and subfolders. Placing documents and links into folders allows user to have organized and quick access to previously conducted research. While similar to creating and using folders within databases themselves, using RefWorks and other citation managers allows you to include material from a number of different locations.

RefWorks is also capable of creating a bibliography or works cited with the push of a button. Simply choose the format you want to use and select the works you wish to use and the RefWorks software will develop your list. Also, RefWorks offers plug-ins to Word that make it possible for the program to create in-text citations automatically as you write. As always, be vigilant regarding the accuracy of generated citations.

If RefWorks sound like something that could help you check out some more information here. And if you need any assistance, don’t hesitate to come in and find out more.

National Pastime Periodicals

Happy Opening Day!

Say it IS so! Publications dedicated to baseball are available through University Library databases. A journal titled NINE: A Journal of Baseball History and Culture can be accessed through BrowZine, a helpful database that has an accompanying application for mobile devices (get acquainted here).   

NINE is a peer-reviewed journal according to UlrichsWeb. However, it is not alone in its standing as a refereed journal about baseball.  Base Ball: A Journal of the Early Game and Black Ball: A Journal of the Negro Leagues are both available with full-text through America: History and Life with Full Text with Black Ball also being available in Ethnic Newswatch.

President Wilson throwing out first pitch

If you want to find more, visit the University Library’s Periodical List to find these journals and discover other baseball themed periodicals. The Periodical List is searchable by subject, so simply typing “baseball” will display all of the indexed returns. Follow the links to get full text access. There are also many full text eBooks on the game listed. Follow the links to access those works as well.

Supplement the start of baseball season with offerings from the University Library. Paul Goldschmidt would be proud.

New Juvenile Books Added: Use the Library Catalog to Find More Information

A new set of books has been added to the Juvenile Exhibit cases in Alkek Library (tinyurl.com/new-juv-alkek). If you click on the title for any juvenile book, you can see what awards a book might have won, an Accelerated Reader level if available, and see a clickable award note to see other titles that won the same award(s).  See the image below to identify the areas of the catalog with this information.

Remember the RRC Library also has a sizable collection of juvenile books on site.  These can also be searched in the library’s catalog.

Detailed catalog record of a juvenile book.

Modified from an entry on the Alkek Library Facebook page.

Texas State University Prof. Amanda Boutot is Interviewed in SAGE Education Streaming Collection

The University Library recently purchased the SAGE Education streaming collection as part of the SAGE Videos resource and look who we found: Texas State University Curriculum and Instruction faculty member Dr. Amanda Boutot’s discussion about Autism. http://libproxy.txstate.edu/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781473928596

SAGE Video with Prof. Amanda BoutotBe sure to take a look at this and many other resources in this database.

Scopus: Finding Articles and Citation Analysis

Scopus descriptionLooking for a fast way to find citations to peer-reviewed literature?  The database Scopus may be the tool for you.  The University Library now offers access to this database which covers citations in science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities.  The publisher lists it as the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature.  It is possible to use this tool to locate the most highly cited items and the articles that cite them.

Tutorials and quick reference guides are available to help you get started.

Another database the library offers with similar information and also includes journal impact factor information is Web of Science.  There are online tutorials available to help with this resource.

So, have fun analyzing the world of citation analysis.

Consumer Reports

With the semester wrapping up you’ll finally be able to get to the holiday shopping that has had to rest on the back burner while papers and exams were demanding more immediate attention. The shopping season is already at least a week in (if hadn’t already begun at Halloween) and here at the Round Rock Campus we are so close to an outlet mall that the itch to get out there is strong. While outlet malls are often places to get good deals, we don’t want just the cheapest item. We want good quality for our dollar. Further, we want to know if the product we are buying is safe and if its manufacturing was environmentally sound. The publication known as Consumer Reports may provide all of that information and members of the Texas State University system have complete access to the periodical.

Access to Consumer Reports begins at the RRC Library homepage. From there you can find a link to the Periodical List beneath the Databases tab. The Periodical List allows users to search by publication, showing which databases index the desired periodical. For instance, a search for Consumer Reports will show the databases where one can access the magazine, including MasterFILE Complete. Following this link will take the user to Consumer Reports’ entry in MasterFILE Complete where you can search within this publication or scan through the issue by selecting a year from the column on the right side of the screen.

MasterFILE Complete Consumer Reports page

Please stop by the RRC Library in room 255 of the Avery Building if you have any questions. Now that you have this information you have the power to be a good consumer. Get out there and have fun, be safe, enjoy your holiday.

Around the World with World Politics Review

World Politics Review logo

The World’s 50 Best Restaurants ranked three Lima, Peru establishments, including Chef Virgilio Martinez’s Central at #4, in it 2015 list. These accomplishments may be a part of the sustained economic growth that Peru has experienced since the mid-2000s. According to an article titled “Growing Pains: Urbanization and Governance in Peru” available through World Politics Review the World Bank predicts Peru’s economy to continue to grow at a 5% rate through 2016 and 2017.

World Politics Review is a new resource available through Texas State University Libraries’ Databases and is full of informative articles about the state of the world. WPR’s mission statement proclaims that it “provides uncompromising analysis of critical trends to give policymakers, businesspeople, and academics the context the need”. Written by “experts”, whose credentials are available by following their hyperlinked by line, WPR articles feature an array of topics from all points of the globe – including Polar Regions.

Articles are searchable by author, region, or issue. WPR offers shorter daily pieces as well as longer in depth works. A daily media roundup provides links to articles from other established international news outlets.

Accessing World Politics Review through Texas State databases will allow users to register with the service. An account with WPR allows user to sign up for email newsletter, sent either daily or weekly, and to create alerts by author or region. Also, registering allows users to have full access to the mobile app. EBSCO allows for advanced searchs of World Politics Review. The librarians at the RRC Library would be thrilled to help users navigate this exciting resource.

How to Create Email Alerts in EBSCO Databases

 

Email Alert

Have you found, through your research, that there are a couple of journals that are really focused on your subject and thought it would be great if you could be made aware when a new issue was released? Do you really wish you could be notified whenever an article on your subject is published? Well, that is entirely possible with EBSCO’s Email Alert feature.

In order to take advantage of the service you’ll need to be signed into your EBSCOhost account (if you have not already established an account, create one now). A “share” button will be present towards the right of the page just above the first listed article once you have run your search. Clicking on the “share” button will be the first step towards creating a search alert.

The second step, once the drop down menu appears, is to click the “Email Alert” link. You will then see a page going over format, giving an option to email others, and providing a link to an RSS feed. From this screen, simply click the “Save Alert” button. You will now be sent an email from EBSCO whenever an article matching your search criteria becomes available.

The steps to create a journal alert are the same, the only difference is the starting point. Rather than working from a results page you will click the “share” button from a journal page, which can be accessed from the preferred article or from performing a journal search. Going through the same steps as establishing a Search Alert, creating a Journal Alert will keep you notified when a new issue of the selected journal is published.

Creating email alerts through EBSCO is a great way to stay on top of the research and literature in your field of study.